Australia Day

australian-flag-map

Today is Australia Day – which is Australia’s national day, and the anniversary of the arrival of the first ships of European settlers to this land. There’re fireworks and barbeques and things.

It sounds a little sad, but I’m spending today on my own and I’m actually looking forward to some time to read and get some work done! Everyone has travelled to Sydney to see family.

This all sounds peaceful, but my day got off to a bad start, when I was woken by someone yelling through my window that they’d just crashed their car on the way out of the driveway, so they were leaving it here and taking the BMW to Sydney instead.

Seriously – who expects to be woken up like that?!

So now there’s a car sitting outside with a smashed door that won’t close anymore – I’m trying to decide whether to cover it or something before tonight.

Anyway, I think I need a glass of wine now!

I hope the day is better from now on!

Posted on 26/01/2013, in Australia, Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

