Desert Flower by Angela Scott

Desert Flower by Angela Scott

Bloggers! The author of this book is looking for people to write a review. I – obviously – already own a copy of this book, but if you’re interested, go HERE.

Bodies have a canny way of finding Samantha Jean Haggert. The first, the dead body of her mama. The second, a naked man in the middle of the Arizona desert. For Sam, dealing with one dead body in her lifetime is more than unfair. Two, is downright cruel.

Seven years after running from West Virginia, Sam’s now a young woman of nineteen, trying to put the pieces of her life together with the help of her family—Jacob, Boone, and Laura. But the naked man in the desert spirals her world out of control, resurfacing past hurts, revealing old secrets, and pitting her between two men who via for her heart. Carson, her friend, her first kiss, and the one man who knows everything about her past and loves her despite it. And Turner, the stranger who knows nothing, but who excites and frustrates her all at once.

When bad choices made as a child leads to more bad choices as a young adult, Sam finds herself at a crossroads and is forced to face her demons head on if she plans to have any future at all—with Carson, with Turner, or with anyone. But fixing the wrongs of the past takes time, and learning to forgive herself is damn near impossible.

 

Desert Flower by Angela Scott

I’m trying not to give away too much of the storyline here, but there might be a few things you consider spoilers – be warned!

 

As soon as I finished Desert Rice I was wondering what to read next. To my absolute delight, I discovered there was a sequel to the book, and I started reading it immediately. Desert Flower sure gives you a lot to think about, and I plan to read it a second time, now I know the outcome of the tangled relationships.

 

It was a good book. However, it was a full-on adult romance, whereas the first book was Young Adult Fiction. In this sequel the narrator is now an adult, and she is involved in a love triangle with men in their mid-twenties or older. Themes in this one include marriage and childrearing, so it is definitely taking the characters into a different phase of their lives.

 

If you asked me what tropes I liked the least in romances, they would be love triangles and secret babies. Desert Flower has both of them, and yet I found the book to be compulsive reading. It was just as much a page-turner as the first.

 

I had an issue with a massive secret Sam kept to herself in the first book, and was happy to see that situation resolved here. However, then she goes and cancels out her good deed by doing practically the same thing all over again! It’s a personal thing for me; I’ve had experiences of my own that have caused me to believe there’s no such thing as a good secret.

 

This is both a romance of sorts, but also a drama. Sam had horrific things happen to her when she was younger, and those experiences have shaped who she is and the way she reacts to things here. Issues such as depression are covered realistically, and often painfully. I really do hate when a love triangle means a good man ends up hurt, and that is the case here – but I just made up my own little happy ending for him in my head!

 

While I have no doubt you could read this one without reading Desert Rice first, here’s my advice: don’t. The first book is such a deep dark, emotional story, and I don’t see how Desert Flower could have the same impact on you without it.

 

If you’re looking solely for YA, stick to Desert Rice. If you think you’re at a stage to handle grown-up Sam too, read these books close together, like I did. The impact is massive.

 

 

Posted on 29/01/2013, in Books, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

