The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

Belly measures her life in summers.  Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer–they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one terrible and wonderful summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

I remember when this book was released, it was EVERYWHERE online. I was intrigued, but I have a big mountain of books I haven’t read yet, and so didn’t get around to it straight away.

Author Jenny Han really gets inside the minds of teenagers, and I liked how honest and realistic the story was. Boys acted like boys; Belly obsessed with her ‘true love’ with all the heart and soul of a girl of her age. While we might not always like the things they say and do, the characters were true to who they were, and were well-rounded people, not cardboard cut-outs.

It seems you can’t turn anywhere in the YA universe without coming across love triangles set at summer holiday spots (like the charming Endless Summer by Jennifer Echols that I am currently reading).

Love triangles aren’t my thing, but I sure do read a lot of them! My problem is that I always, always end up loving the poor guy who always misses out, and kind of hating the guy the heroine (and therefore the readers) are always obsessed with. I know that in this post-Twilight world, jerk heroes are all the rage, but I just don’t see their appeal. Especially not when there’s this hopelessly lovely, hopelessly in love nice guy waiting in the wings.

I mean, it’d get boring after a while, watching the dark and dangerous guy sit in the corner, brooding, when you could be off having fun with the other one!

This was no different in The Summer I Turned Pretty. And there’re two more books in the series, but I’m sorry folks, Jeremiah’s my man, and I’m sticking with it!

I would hesitate to call this a YA Romance, as this is an ensemble cast, and there’s not one relationship that gets much page time. I’ve seen it described as a great summer read, and I’d agree. It’s late summer here in Australia at the moment, and it’s exactly the kind of thing I enjoyed reading, curled up on the back deck, watching the sun set over the mountains!

Now, if only the nice guy got the girl for once!

Posted on 07/02/2013, in Books, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

